Large-scale cyber attacts like WannaCry can bring on a real panic. The Greenbone Community Edition is just what you need to ease the situation: The tool is free of charge, checks the network and detects weaknesses – before malware exploits them.

The worldwide ransomware attacks have affected tens of thousands of computers in almost 100 countries: The attackers block data access with the help of the trojan WannaCry. Then demand a ransom for decoding the now encrypted data. Networks with a vulnerability in the network protocol Server Message Block Version 1 (SMBv1) are the prime target of these cyber criminals. This was known for quite some time. Which is why our Greenbone security research team already issued a network vulnerability test at the beginning of February, pointing out this weakness for customers and users. This early warning raised user awareness for the problem and prevented worse from happening.

The feedback came mainly from the users of our free Greenbone Community Edition. It can do a lot more than just look for WannaCry in the network. The free platform detects other Microsoft vulnerabilities, too. At the same time, users can check the complete IT infrastructure including other software packages, routers, switches, access points, printers and further equipment for vulnerabilities. There is no time limit on the use of the Community Edition. For professional-grade support, users can always switch to the Greenbone Security Manager. Please look here for a detailed comparison.

By the way, the crypto mining malware Adylkuzz, which has been around since April, exploits the same weak point. So a quick check is definitely worth your time. A free download is available here.

Groß angelegte Cyber-Attacken wie WannaCry lösen schnell Panik aus. Hier schafft die Greenbone Community Edition Fakten: Das kostenlose Tool überprüft das Netzwerk und bringt Schwachstellen ans Licht – und zwar bevor Malware diese gezielt adressiert.

Der weltweit angelegte Ransomware-Attacke hat Zehntausende Computer in fast 100 Ländern erreicht: Mit Hilfe des Erpressungstrojaners WannaCry versperren die Angreifer den Zugriff auf Daten. Für die Entschlüsselung wird Lösegeld fällig. Im Visier der Cyberkriminellen stehen Netzwerke mit einer Schwachstelle im Netzwerkprotokoll Server Message Block Version 1 (SMBv1). Diese war bereits seit einiger Zeit bekannt. So hat unser Greenbone Security Research Team bereits Anfang Februar einen Network-Vulnerability-Test mit Hinweis auf diese Schwachstelle für Kunden und Nutzer herausgegeben – mit positiver Rückmeldung: Der frühe Hinweis hat viele Empfänger sensibilisiert und Schlimmeres verhindert.

Dieses Feedback kam vor allem auch von Anwendern unserer frei verfügbaren Greenbone Community Edition. Sie kann deutlich mehr, als im Netzwerk nach WannaCry zu suchen. Die kostenfreie Plattform spürt auch andere Microsoft-Schwachstellen auf. Parallel können die Anwender damit die restliche IT-Infrastruktur, also andere Software-Pakete, aber auch Router, Switches, Access Points, Drucker und ähnliches auf Vulnerabilities überprüfen. Der Einsatz der Community Edition ist zeitlich unbegrenzt. Wer professionellen Support benötigt, kann jederzeit auf die Greenbone Security Manager umsteigen. Ein vollen Vergleich finden sie hier.

Übrigens: Auch die Krypto-Mining-Malware Adylkuzz, die bereits seit April kursiert, sucht sich Rechner mit dem gleichen Schlupfloch. Ein schneller Check lohnt sich also. Zum kostenlosen Download