• New Community Portal launched

    The world’s most used open source vulnerability management provider has a new community home.

    Read more
  • Vulnerability Scanning even faster

    Discover more details about the high efficiency through fast and simple processes.

    Read more
  • TISAX Certification for Greenbone

    Greenbone’s Information Security Management System (ISMS) and data protection processes are now certified within the TISAX scheme.

    Read more
  • Supply Chains in Open-Source Software

    Not everyone who uses open source software follows all the best practices. We help to avoid mistakes.

    Read more
  • ISO Certification of Our Management Systems

    We are proud that we have now certified our management systems successfully for the aspects of quality (ISO 9001) and information security (ISO 27001).

    Read more
  • More than 100,000 Vulnerability Tests

    The Greenbone Security Feed now includes more than 100,000 vulnerability tests and also provides protection against large and well-known vulnerabilities such as SUPERNOVA, BlueKeep and PrintNightmare.

    Read more

 Vulnerability Management:

Your IT infrastructure’s security is the most important thing to us.

Greenbone is the world’s most trusted provider of vulnerability management. Our mission is to help you identify security vulnerabilities before they can be exploited – reducing the risk and impact of cyber attacks.

Every attack needs a matching vulnerability to be successful. Our feed used by our solutions includes over 100,000 vulnerability tests. And the scope is constantly growing as we work to add more tests that identify newly discovered vulnerabilities.

> 100,000 automated vulnerability tests 99.9 % less target area due to vulnerability management > 12 years product experience and market acceptance > 50,000 installations worldwide > 195 countries where our solutions are in use 9 out of 10 test customers would prefer to hold on to our solution > 100 sales partners worldwide

Our solutions are available in three different product lines: hardware solution, virtual solution and cloud solution. You have the option to initially test the solutions free of charge as a community version or to use them directly as a professional version.

Many organizations and government agencies trust our various vulnerability management solutions.
With over 50,000 installations and more than 100 partner companies, they are used all over the world.

PREFERRED

Businesses of all types and sizes have made Greenbone’s vulnerability management the foundation for more than 50,000 professional installation and integration projects.

TRANSPARENT

Black Box? Closed source? Backdoors? Certainly not with us! Download our Greenbone Enterprise TRIAL today and test our solution. Free of charge, of course.

COMMITTED

Our vulnerability management products identify weaknesses in your IT infrastructure, assess their risk potential, and recommend concrete measures for remediation.

What are the benefits of vulnerability management?

999 out of 1,000 vulnerabilities have been known for more than a year. Vulnerability management can therefore identify and eliminate these vulnerabilities before they are exploited by attackers. This greatly reduces the vulnerability and therefore the attack surface of the IT infrastructure.

Vulnerability management systems are fully automated and through features such as schedules and custom scan configurations, offer users the ability to create complete vulnerability management processes that constantly scan for vulnerabilities. The end result is that vulnerability management ensures more resilient systems in the long term.

For which companies is vulnerability management a useful tool?

Every company derives significant benefit from using vulnerability management, as it can be used to achieve proactive security.

Greenbone Networks’ vulnerability management solutions are suitable for businesses and government agencies of all sizes. Solutions are available for both micro-enterprises where only a few IP addresses need to be scanned and large enterprises with many branch offices.

What kind of knowledge do I need for vulnerability management from Greenbone?

The basis for vulnerability management is the awareness regarding a potential threat and the will to fix possible vulnerabilities in the system.

The mere integration of our vulnerability management solution is comparatively easy. Nevertheless, advanced IT knowledge at admin level is an advantage.

ADN Distribution GmbH

„Greenbone is the top favorite among vulnerability management solutions for ADN, which clearly stands out from the field of competitors. I value the cooperation very much. We speak the same language. For us as a distributor, this is an important plus.“

Hermann Ramacher – Managing Director ADN

About ADN

About ADN

As an IT distributor, service provider and technology provider, ADN Distribution GmbH is a reliable partner for more than 6,000 resellers, system houses and managed service providers in the DACH region. The company combines a future-proof portfolio of modern IT solutions from the areas of cloud services, cyber security, data center infrastructure, UCC and modern workplace.

 

 

OUR VULNERABILITY MANAGEMENT PROTECTS

Large companies
Small and medium companies
Critical infrastructures
Public sectors

ALL OVER THE WORLD. ARE YOU READY?

We look forward to your message.

Please use our contact form to send us a message - we will contact you as soon as possible.

I agree to the data processing for the purpose of contacting Greenbone Networks GmbH. *
Greenbone Networks does not transmit any data to third parties. You can find further information on data protection in our Privacy Policy.

Frequently Asked Questions About Vulnerability Management

Vulnerability management is an IT security process that aims to find vulnerabilities in the IT infrastructure, classify their severity and, in addition, provide a list of actions to be taken to address the vulnerabilities. The goal is to eliminate vulnerabilities so that they can no longer pose a risk.

Vulnerability management is an IT security process that focuses on finding vulnerabilities in the IT infrastructure, classifying their severity and additionally providing recommendations for remediation measures. The goal is to eliminate vulnerabilities so that they cannot be exploited by cyber criminals.

Both the Greenbone Enterprise Appliances and the Greenbone Cloud Service use the Greenbone Enterprise Feed. This is a collection of over 100,000 vulnerability tests (VTs). Put simply, for every known vulnerability, there is a vulnerability test that detects that exact vulnerability on the active elements of the IT infrastructure – desktops, servers, appliances, and intelligent components such as routers or VoIP devices.

The scanning service runs the tests on the network to be tested and thus detects existing vulnerabilities. These are rated according to their severity, which enables prioritization of remediation actions.

The price of our solution is always based on the environment to be scanned. Depending on whether you are interested in a virtual appliance, a physical appliance or our cloud solution, our solutions cost between a few euros per month to several hundred thousand euros.

Vulnerability management is not a one-off operation, but an ongoing process that is firmly integrated into IT security. The steps from the detection to the elimination of vulnerabilities run continuously in a constant cycle.

The duration of a scan always depends on the number of systems to be scanned or IP addresses to be scanned. Vulnerability management makes sense for any size of system, but can run for several hours as a background activity depending on the complexity of the respective scan.

Absolutely, because the systems mentioned focus on attack patterns – looking from the inside out. The goal is to ward off attacks that are actually taking place. Firewalls or similar systems therefore often only intervene once the attack has already happened.

In contrast, vulnerability management looks at the IT infrastructure from the outside in – similar to the perspective of attackers. The goal is to close vulnerabilities that could be exploited by potential attackers so that an attack does not even occur.

High-quality firewall systems may detect vulnerabilities, but unlike vulnerability management, they do not offer a solution approach for a detected vulnerability. In addition, firewalls, IDS or IPS systems also only detect vulnerabilities if the system allows it at all, and then only on the data traffic that passes through the respective security system.
Traffic that does not pass through the security system is not analyzed. If a Greenbone solution is in the network, every component that can be reached via an IP connection can also be checked for vulnerabilities, regardless of which device it is. This therefore also applies, for example, to industrial components, robots or production facilities.

A combination of both vulnerability management and firewall & co. is the best solution. With vulnerability management, other systems can be focused specifically on hotspots.

Patch management involves updating systems, applications and products to eliminate security vulnerabilities.

Vulnerability management is used to find, classify and prioritize existing vulnerabilities and recommend measures to eliminate them. Such a measure can be a patch, for example.

Patch management thus presupposes vulnerability management. After all, it only makes sense to patch if existing vulnerabilities are known.

In addition, patch management usually only works in IT components, but not in industrial plants and control systems, for example.

Furthermore, a patch management system requires extensive and controlling admin intervention, since not every patch is useful or uncritical for the respective system. Often, new patches also bring new vulnerabilities that a patch management system does not detect.

Patch management is a useful complement to vulnerability management an, as these systems can in turn automate patching. Under certain circumstances, our vulnerability management can also provide information directly to a patch management system, so that patching can be performed directly on the basis of security-critical assessments.

Yes, even with regular updates and patches, vulnerability management makes sense.

For example, system dependencies often do not allow an up-to-date patch. Possible reasons for this could be that special business-critical applications could lose their certification as a result or functions could be impaired.

In addition, there is not a patch for every vulnerability, or updates repeatedly create new vulnerabilities themselves. These are often not detected if no vulnerability management system is in use, which automatically checks all components again and again.

Furthermore, even a software version with current updates cannot rule out misconfigurations that lead to vulnerabilities. Classic examples of this are an administrator password “12345678” or file system shares with accidental Internet opening.

Another disadvantage for OT components is that updates cannot be automated in most cases.

Yes, continuous vulnerability management combined with patch management will gradually result in a much more resilient environment.

The biggest challenge is the initial setup and integration into the networks. But even this is possible for all our solutions within a very short time. In addition, you will receive support from Greenbone at any time.

Since it is recommended to work with different scan plans, a comprehensive asset management is required in advance of the vulnerability management to distinguish critical from less critical assets.

These days, all companies, no matter how large they are or what industry they belong to, are increasingly the focus of attackers. The most important prerequisite for vulnerability management is that those responsible in the company are aware of this fact and are willing to take appropriate preventive measures.

It is also important that you, as a potential customer, inform yourself in detail in advance: Have the performance of the solution shown to you in a test and inform yourself extensively about the acquisition and all running costs. Further technical requirements are not necessary, as the mere integration is very simple.

• Neues Community-Portal eröffnet

    Der weltweit meistgenutzte Open-Source-Anbieter für Schwachstellenmanagement hat ein neues Community-Portal.

    Mehr dazu
  • Schnelleres Schwachstellen-Scanning mit dem neuen Scanner Notus

    Erfahren Sie mehr Details über die hohe Effizienz durch schnelle und einfache Prozesse.

    Mehr dazu
  • TISAX-Zertifizierung für Greenbone

    Das Information Security Management System (ISMS) und die Datenschutzprozesse von Greenbone sind jetzt im Rahmen von TISAX zertifiziert.

    Mehr dazu
  • Supply Chains in Open-Source-Software

    Nicht jeder, der Open-Source-Software benutzt, beachtet alle bewährten Regeln. Wir helfen dabei, Fehler zu vermeiden.

    Mehr dazu
  • ISO-Zertifizierung unserer Managementsysteme

    Wir sind stolz darauf, dass wir unsere Managementsysteme nun erfolgreich für die Aspekte Qualität (ISO 9001) und Informationssicherheit
    (ISO 27001) zertifiziert haben.

    Mehr dazu
  • Über 100.000 Schwachstellentests

    Der Greenbone Security Feed beinhaltet nun mehr als 100.000 Schwachstellentests und bietet auch Schutz vor großen und bekannten Schwachstellen wie SUPERNOVA, BlueKeep und PrintNightmare.

    Mehr dazu

Vulnerability Management:

Die Sicherheit Ihrer IT-Infrastruktur ist uns wichtig.

Greenbone ist der weltweit meistgenutzte Anbieter von Vulnerability Management. Unsere Mission ist es, Ihnen dabei zu helfen, Sicherheitslücken und Schwachstellen aufzudecken, bevor sie ausgenutzt werden können – und so das Risiko und die Auswirkungen von Cyberangriffen zu reduzieren.

Jeder Angriff braucht eine passende Schwachstelle, um erfolgreich zu sein. Unser Feed, der von unseren Lösungen genutzt wird, umfasst über 100.000 Schwachstellentests. Und der Umfang wächst ständig, denn wir arbeiten permanent daran, weitere Tests hinzuzufügen, die neu entdeckte Schwachstellen erkennen.

99,9 % weniger Angriffsfläche durch Vulnerability Management 9 von 10 Testkunden möchten unsere Lösung gleich behalten

Unsere Lösungen sind in drei verschiedenen Produktlinien erhältlich: Hardware-Lösung, virtuelle Lösung und Cloud-Lösung. Sie haben die Möglichkeit, die Lösungen zunächst kostenlos als Community-Versionen zu testen oder sie direkt als professionelle Versionen zu nutzen.

Viele Organisationen und Behörden vertrauen auf unsere verschiedenen Lösungen für das Vulnerability Management beziehungsweise Schwachstellenmanagement.
Mit über 50.000 Installationen und mehr als 100 Partnerunternehmen kommen sie rund um den Globus zum Einsatz.

BELIEBT

Über 50.000 professionelle Installationen und Integrationen quer durch alle Branchen und Unternehmensgrößen bauen auf das Vulnerability Management von Greenbone.

TRANSPARENT

Schwarze Box? Closed Source? Hintertüren? Nicht mit uns! Laden Sie sich noch heute unseren Greenbone Enterprise TRIAL herunter und testen Sie unsere Lösung. Natürlich kostenlos.

ENGAGIERT

Unsere Vulnerability-Management-Produkte identifizieren Lücken in Ihrer IT-Infrastruktur, bewerten deren Risikopotenzial und empfehlen konkrete Maßnahmen zur Behebung.

Welche Vorteile bietet Vulnerability Management?

999 von 1.000 Schwachstellen sind bereits über ein Jahr bekannt. Mit Vulnerability Management können diese Schwachstellen also erkannt und beseitigt werden, bevor sie von Angreifenden ausgenutzt werden. Dies reduziert die Verwundbarkeit und damit auch die Angriffsfläche der IT-Infrastruktur stark.

Vulnerability-Management-Systeme arbeiten voll automatisiert und bieten durch Features wie Zeitpläne und benutzerdefinierte Scan-Konfigurationen den Nutzenden die Möglichkeit, vollständige Vulnerability-Management-Prozesse zu erstellen, die ständig nach Schwachstellen suchen. Im Endergebnis sorgt Schwachstellenmanagement für nachhaltig widerstandsfähigere Systeme.

Für welche Unternehmen eignet sich Vulnerability Management?

Jedes Unternehmen zieht einen deutlichen Nutzen aus dem Einsatz von Vulnerability Management, da sich damit eine proaktive Sicherheit erreichen lässt.

Die Vulnerability-Management-Lösungen von Greenbone Networks sind für Unternehmen und Behörden jeder Größe geeignet. Es sind sowohl Lösungen für Kleinstunternehmen, bei denen nur wenige IP-Adressen gescannt werden müssen, als auch für Großunternehmen mit vielen Zweigstellen verfügbar.

Welche Vorkenntnisse brauche ich für Vulnerability Management von Greenbone?

Die Grundlage für Vulnerability Management ist das Bewusstsein hinsichtlich einer potenziellen Bedrohung und der Wille, mögliche Schwachstellen im System zu beheben.

Die reine Einbindung unserer Vulnerability-Management-Lösung ist vergleichsweise einfach. Dennoch sind fortgeschrittene IT-Kenntnisse auf Admin-Level von Vorteil.

Greenbone Blog

ADN Distribution GmbH

„Greenbone ist für ADN einer der Top-Favoriten unter den Lösungen für Schwachstellenmanagement. Allein die BSI-Zertifizierung zeigt, wie deutlich sich Greenbone vom Feld der Mitbewerber abhebt. Ich schätze die Zusammenarbeit sehr. Wir sprechen die gleiche Sprache. Für uns als Distributor ist das ein wichtiger Pluspunkt.“

Hermann Ramacher – Geschäftsführer ADN

Mehr über ADN

Mehr über ADN

Die ADN Distribution GmbH ist als IT-Distributor, Service Provider und Technologieanbieter zuverlässiger Partner an der Seite von mehr als 6.000 Fachhändlern, Systemhäusern sowie Managed Service Providern im DACH-Raum. Das Unternehmen vereint ein zukunftssicheres Portfolio an modernen IT-Lösungen aus den Bereichen Cloud Services, Cyber-Security, Data Center Infrastructure, UCC und Modern Workplace.

 

UNSER VULNERABILITY MANAGEMENT SCHÜTZT

Großunternehmen

Kleine und Mittlere Unternehmen

Kritische Infrasturkturen

Öffentliche Sektoren

AUF DER GANZEN WELT. SIND SIE DABEI?

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Nachricht.

Sie können unser Kontaktformular verwenden, um uns eine Nachricht zukommen zu lassen – wir werden uns umgehend mit Ihnen in Verbindung setzen.

Hiermit stimme ich der Datenverarbeitung zum Zweck der Kontaktaufnahme durch die Greenbone Networks GmbH zu. *
Greenbone Networks übermittelt keine Daten an Dritte. Weitere Hinweise zum Datenschutz finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Häufig gestellte Fragen zum Thema Vulnerability Management

Vulnerability Management ist ein Prozess der IT-Sicherheit, der darauf abzielt, Schwachstellen in der IT-Infrastruktur zu finden, eine Schwachstellenbewertung hinsichtlich ihres Schweregrads vorzunehmen und zusätzlich eine Auflistung der zu ergreifenden Maßnahmen, um die Schwachstellen zu beheben, zu liefern. Ziel ist es, Schwachstellen zu eliminieren, sodass diese kein Risiko mehr darstellen können.

Vulnerability Management ist ein Prozess im Bereich der IT-Sicherheit. Ziel ist es, Schwachstellen, insbesondere Softwareschwachstellen, in der IT-Infrastruktur zu finden, ihren Schweregrad einzustufen und zusätzlich Empfehlungen für Beseitigungsmaßnahmen zu liefern. So lassen sich Schwachstellen gezielt eliminieren, und das Risiko Ihrer IT-Infrastruktur gegenüber Bedrohungslagen durch Cyber-Kriminelle drastisch reduzieren.

Sowohl die Greenbone Enterprise Appliances als auch der Greenbone Cloud Service nutzen den Greenbone Enterprise Feed. Dabei handelt es sich dabei um eine Sammlung von über 100.000 Vulnerability Tests (VTs). Vereinfacht gesagt gibt es für jede bekannte Schwachstelle einen Vulnerability Test, der genau diese Schwachstelle auf den aktiven Elementen der IT-Infrastruktur – Desktop-PCs, Server, Appliances und intelligente Komponenten wie etwa Router oder VoIP-Geräte – erkennt.

Der Scandienst führt die Tests auf dem zu prüfenden Netzwerk aus und erkennt so vorhandene Sicherheitslücken. Diese werden nach ihrem Schweregrad bewertet, was das Priorisieren der Beseitigungsmaßnahmen ermöglicht.

Der Preis unserer Lösung orientiert sich immer an der zu scannenden Umgebung. Je nachdem, ob Sie sich für eine virtuelle Appliance, für eine Hardware-Appliance oder für unsere Cloud-Lösung interessieren, kosten unsere Lösungen zwischen einigen Euro monatlich bis zu mehreren Hunderttausend Euro.

Vulnerability Management ist kein einmaliger Vorgang, sondern ein andauernder Prozess, der fest in die IT-Sicherheit integriert ist. Die Schritte von der Erkennung bis zur Behebung von Schwachstellen laufen kontinuierlich in einem beständigen Kreislauf ab.

Die Dauer eines Scans ist immer in Abhängigkeit von der Anzahl der zu scannenden Systeme beziehungsweise der zu scannenden IP-Adressen zu sehen. Vulnerability Management ist für jede Systemgröße sinnvoll, kann aber durchaus je nach Komplexität des jeweiligen Scans mehrere Stunden als Hintergrundtätigkeit laufen.

Auf jeden Fall, denn die genannten Systeme konzentrieren sich auf die Angriffsmuster – mit dem Blick von innen nach außen. Ziel ist es, tatsächlich stattfindende Angriffe abzuwehren. Firewalls oder ähnliche Systeme greifen deshalb oft erst ein, wenn der Angriff schon passiert ist.

Im Gegensatz dazu betrachtet Vulnerability Management die IT-Infrastruktur von außen nach innen – ähnlich dem Blickwinkel von Angreifenden. Dabei ist es das Ziel, Schwachstellen, die von potenziellen Angreifenden ausgenutzt werden könnten, zu schließen, sodass es gar nicht erst zu einem Angriff kommt.

Hochwertige Firewall-Systeme erkennen eventuell zwar Schwachstellen, bieten aber im Gegensatz zum Vulnerability Management keinen Lösungsansatz für eine gefundene Schwachstelle an. Darüber hinaus erkennen Firewalls, IDS- oder IPS- Systeme auch nur dann Schwachstellen, wenn das System es überhaupt ermöglicht und dann auch nur auf dem Datenverkehr, der das jeweilige Sicherheitssystem passiert.
Datenverkehr, der das Sicherheitssystem nicht passiert, wird auch nicht analysiert. Wenn eine Greenbone-Lösung im Netz ist, kann jede Komponente, die über eine IP-Verbindung erreichbar ist, auch auf Schwachstellen geprüft werden, egal um welches Gerät es sich handelt. Dies gilt also beispielsweise auch für Industriekomponenten, Roboter oder Produktionsanlagen.

Eine Kombination aus sowohl Vulnerability Management als auch Firewall & Co. ist die beste Lösung. Mit Vulnerability Management können andere Systeme gezielt auf Hotspots fokussiert werden.

Beim Patch-Management werden Systeme, Anwendungen und Produkte durch Updates aktualisiert, um Sicherheitslücken zu beseitigen.

Vulnerability Management dient dazu, vorhandene Schwachstellen zu finden, einzustufen, zu priorisieren und Maßnahmen zur Beseitigung zu empfehlen. Solch eine Maßnahme kann beispielsweise ein Patch sein.

Ein Patch-Management setzt somit Vulnerability Management voraus. Schließlich ist es nur dann sinnvoll zu patchen, wenn vorhandene Schwachstellen bekannt sind.

Außerdem funktioniert ein Patch-Management meistens nur in IT-Komponenten, nicht aber in beispielsweise industriellen Anlagen und Steuerungen.

Des Weiteren verlangen ein Patch-Management-System umfangreiche und kontrollierende Admin-Eingriffe, da nicht jeder Patch sinnvoll oder unkritisch für das jeweilige System ist. Oft bringen neue Patches auch neue Schwachstellen mit, die ein Patch-Management-System nicht erkennt.

Patch-Management ist eine sinnvolle Ergänzung zu Vulnerability Management an, da diese Systeme wiederum das Patchen automatisieren können. Unter Umständen kann unser Schwachstellenmanagemet auch direkt Informationen an ein Patch-Management-System liefern, sodass das Patchen direkt auf Basis sicherheitskritischer Einschätzungen vorgenommen werden kann.

Ja, auch mit regelmäßigen Updates und Patches ist Vulnerability Management sinnvoll.

Beispielsweise lassen System-Abhängigkeiten lassen häufig keinen aktuellen Patch zu. Mögliche Gründe dafür können sein, dass spezielle unternehmenskritische Applikationen ihre Zertifizierung dadurch verlieren können oder Funktionen beeinträchtigt werden.

Außerdem gibt es nicht für jede Schwachstelle einen Patch oder aber Updates sorgen immer wieder selbst für neue Schwachstellen. Diese werden oft nicht erkannt, wenn kein Vulnerability-Management-System im Einsatz ist, welches automatisch alle Komponenten immer wieder prüft.

Des Weiteren können auch durch einen Softwarestand mit aktuellen Updates Fehlkonfigurationen, die zu Schwachstellen führen, nicht ausgeschlossen werden. Klassische Beispiele dafür sind ein Administratoren-Passwort „12345678“ oder Dateisystem-Freigaben mit versehentlicher Internet-Öffnung.

Für OT-Komponenten kommt als Nachteil hinzu, dass Updates hier in den meisten Fällen nicht automatisiert werden können.

Ja, kontinuierliches Vulnerability Management in Kombination mit Patch-Management erbringt nach und nach eine deutlich widerstandsfähigere Umgebung.

Die größte Herausforderung stellt die erstmalige Einrichtung und Einbindung in die Netze dar. Doch selbst diese ist für alle unsere Lösungen unkompliziert innerhalb kürzester Zeit möglich. Außerdem erhalten Sie jederzeit Support durch Greenbone.

Da sich die Arbeit mit verschiedenen Scan-Plänen empfiehlt, ist im Vorfeld des Vulnerability Managements ein umfassendes Asset-Management erforderlich, um kritische von weniger kritischen Assets zu unterscheiden.

Heutzutage geraten sämtliche Unternehmen, egal wie groß sie sind und welcher Branche sie angehören, zunehmend in den Fokus von Angreifenden. Die wichtigste Voraussetzung für Vulnerability Management ist es, dass sich die Verantwortlichen im Unternehmen dieser Tatsache bewusst sind und gewillt sind, entsprechende präventive Maßnahmen zu ergreifen.

Wichtig ist auch, dass Sie sich als potenzielle Kundschaft im Vorfeld genau informieren: Lassen Sie sich die Leistung der Lösung in einem Test zeigen und informieren Sie sich umfangreich über die Anschaffungs- und alle laufenden Kosten. Weitere technische Voraussetzungen sind nicht notwendig, da die reine Einbindung sehr einfach ist.