The second part of our series on the ongoing professionalization of attacks on IT systems deals with changes in the attackers’ mindset. Automation, commercialization and cloud computing have also left their mark on the typical profile of cyber criminals that admins and vulnerability management have to deal with. Contrary to common Hollywood clichés, the threat of Ransomware as a Service is usually not (anymore) posed by highly talented script kiddies with a lot of time on their hands or anarchistic world improvers in hoodies. Nor from highly qualified intelligence agencies equipped with seemingly endless resources.

Attacks Are Commissioned Work Today

Today’s most dangerous attacks are increasingly working “on contract,” pursuing a business model, and must also be guided by values such as efficiency or probability of success. Just as cloud computing has become an integral part of most companies’ IT, it now also serves cyber criminals to automate, organize and accelerate attacks. With great success: Ransomware has grown to become the biggest threat, and with Ransomware as a Service, attacks can be booked quite easily.

More and more security professionals are just now developing an understanding of the attackers’ business models: their logic is hardly any different from that of other companies. They invest the same resources in developing exploits and tools and want to achieve the highest possible return on investment (ROI). That is why they often pay close attention to the reusability of their tools.

Faced with limited resources, cyber criminals develop exploits for widely used technologies that offer high profit potential for multiple targets.

The Perspective of Cyber Criminals

The attackers have organized themselves, orders are placed on the darknet, and payment is made via Bitcoin. They are profit-maximized, efficiency-oriented and professionally structured: However, the new, economy-oriented logic can and must also be a key to better defense mechanisms. Especially when security managers see themselves buried under an avalanche of security warnings, it is helpful to understand how cyber criminals “tick”.

In order to secure their own systems, defense must now rethink and think outside the box. Understanding the logic of cyber criminals helps decipher key signals and close gaps. David Wolpoff, CTO of Randori, has formulated six key questions in a blog post on Threatpost that describe the mindset of modern cyber criminals well:

  1. What useful information about a target can be identified from the outside?
  2. How valuable is the target to the attackers?
  3. Is the target known to be easy to hack?
  4. What is the potential of the target and environment?
  5. How long will it take to develop an exploit?
  6. Is there a repeatable ROI for an exploit?

The more knowledge cyber criminals can gather about a technology or a person in a company, the better they can plan the next attack phase. In the first step, they thus ask how detailed the target can be described from the outside. For example, depending on the configuration, a web server may not reveal a server identifier or server names and detailed version numbers. If the exact version of a used service and its configuration is visible, precise exploits and attacks can be executed. This maximizes the chances of success while minimizing the probability of detection and the effort required.

No Longer Random

The increasingly important economic interest ensures that cyber criminals have to consider factors such as effort, time, money and risk more strongly. Accordingly, it is not worthwhile to attack or spy on systems indiscriminately. These days, attackers first clarify the potential value before acting and focus on promising targets such as VPNs and firewalls, credential stores, authentication systems or remote support solutions at the network edge. These could turn out to be master keys and unlock the way into the network or to credentials.

Again and again, reports of critical and incendiary vulnerabilities emerge that apparently no one had exploited for attacks. It sounds unbelievable, but often no one has done the work to program an exploit for a vulnerability. Modern cyber criminals increasingly follow the principle of return on investment and make use of existing proof of concepts (POC).

Complexity Is Unwanted

This sometimes yields surprising findings: modern cyber criminals avoid well-documented vulnerabilities. Extensive research and analysis of a particular vulnerability is more an indicator of unwanted complexity and effort, which one wants to keep to a minimum. RaaS hackers search for available tools or buy exploits already created for a particular object. Attackers want to move unnoticed in the systems they compromise. So they pick targets with few defenses where malware and pivoting tools work, such as desktop phones and VPN apps and other unprotected hardware. Many apps there are built with or for Linux, have a full scope of use, and have trusted pre-installed tools. This promises to keep them usable after an exploit and makes them all the more attractive to cyber criminals.

Surprising Cost-Benefit Calculation

Once the target has been set, attackers need to assess time, cost, and reusability. Vulnerability research also goes beyond simply uncovering unpatched devices. Cyber criminals must assess whether the cost of researching and developing the resulting tools is commensurate with the gain after an attack. Well-documented software or open-source tools that are easy to obtain and test mean a relatively easy target.

Also surprising: overall, the severity of a vulnerability does not play the central role for cyber criminals, according to Wolpoff. Planning an attack is far more complex and requires economic thinking. Recognizing that the other side must also make compromises helps defend cloud environments in a meaningful way. Protecting everything, everywhere, all the time from all attackers is illusory. Thinking more like them, however, makes prioritization easier.

In the third part of this series of articles, it’s all about whether the Ransomware-as-a-Service model would be possible without Bitcoin and darknet, and whether the two technologies actually deliver what the attackers promise in that context.

Der zweite Teil unserer Serie über die fortschreitende Professionalisierung der Angriffe auf IT-Systeme beschäftigt sich mit Veränderungen im Mindset der Angreifenden. Automatisierung, Kommerzialisierung und Cloudcomputing haben Ihre Spuren auch im typischen Profil von Cyber-Kriminellen hinterlassen, mit denen sich Admins und das Schwachstellenmanagement auseinandersetzen müssen. Entgegen gängiger Hollywoodklischees geht die Bedrohung durch Ransomware as a Service in der Regel nicht (mehr) von hochbegabten Script-Kiddies mit viel Zeit oder von anarchistischen Weltverbesserern im Hoodie aus. Auch nicht von hochqualifizierten und mit schier endlosen Ressourcen ausgestatteten Geheimdiensten.

Angriffe sind heute Auftragsarbeiten

Die gefährlichsten Angriffe heute arbeiten zunehmend „im Auftrag“, verfolgen also ein Geschäftsmodell und müssen sich dabei auch an Werten wie Effizienz oder Erfolgswahrscheinlichkeit orientieren. Genauso wie das Cloud-Computing fester Bestandteil der IT der meisten Unternehmen geworden ist, dient es mittlerweile auch Cyber-Kriminellen dazu, Angriffe zu automatisieren, zu organisieren und zu beschleunigen. Mit großem Erfolg: Ransomware ist zur größten Bedrohung erwachsen und bei Ransomware as a Service lassen sich Angriffe ganz einfach buchen.

Mehr und mehr Sicherheitsfachleute entwickeln gerade erst ein Verständnis für die Geschäftsmodelle der Angreifenden: Deren Logik unterscheidet sich kaum mehr von der anderer Unternehmen. Sie investieren die gleichen Ressourcen in die Entwicklung von Exploits und Tools und wollen den höchstmöglichen Return on Investment (ROI) erzielen. Deswegen achten sie häufig stark darauf, dass sich ihre Werkzeuge wiederverwenden lassen.

Angesichts begrenzter Ressourcen entwickeln Cyber-Kriminelle Exploits für weit verbreitete Technologien, die ein hohes Gewinnpotenzial für mehrere Ziele bieten.

Die Perspektive der Cyber-Kriminellen

Die Angreifenden haben sich organisiert, bestellt wird im Darknet, bezahlt via Bitcoin. Gewinnmaximiert, effizienzorientiert und professionell strukturiert: Die neue, wirtschaftlich orientierte Logik kann und muss aber auch ein Schlüssel zu besseren Abwehrmechanismen sein. Gerade wenn Security-Verantwortliche sich unter einer Lawine von Sicherheitswarnungen begraben sehen, ist es hilfreich, zu verstehen, wie Cyber-Kriminelle „ticken“.

Um die eigenen Systeme abzusichern, muss die Verteidigung jetzt umdenken und über den eigenen Tellerrand blicken. Die Logik der Cyber-Kriminellen hilft, die entscheidenden Signale zu entschlüsseln und Lücken zu schließen. David Wolpoff, CTO von Randori, hat in einem Blogbeitrag auf Threatpost sechs zentrale Fragen formuliert, die das Mindset der modernen Cyber-Kriminellen gut beschreiben:

  1. Welche nützlichen Informationen über ein Ziel lassen sich von außen erkennen?
  2. Wie wertvoll ist das Ziel für die Angreifenden?
  3. Ist das Ziel als leicht zu hacken bekannt?
  4. Welches Potenzial bieten Ziel und Umgebung?
  5. Wie lange wird es dauern, einen Exploit zu entwickeln?
  6. Gibt es einen wiederholbaren ROI für einen Exploit?

Je mehr Wissen Cyber-Kriminelle über eine Technologie oder eine Person in einem Unternehmen sammeln können, desto besser können sie die nächste Angriffsphase planen. Im ersten Schritt stellen sie so die Frage, wie detailliert sich das Ziel von außen beschreiben lässt. Je nach Konfiguration kann ein Webserver beispielsweise keine Serverkennung oder Servernamen und detaillierte Versionssnummern verraten. Ist die genaue Version eines verwendeten Dienstes und seine Konfiguration sichtbar, lassen sich präzise Exploits und Angriffe ausführen. Das maximiert die Erfolgschancen und minimiert zeitgleich die Entdeckungswahrscheinlichkeit und die Aufwände.

Nicht mehr wahllos

Das zunehmend wichtigere wirtschaftliche Interesse sorgt dafür, dass Cyber-Kriminelle Faktoren wie Aufwand, Zeit, Geld und Risiko stärker berücksichtigen müssen. Dementsprechend lohnt es sich nicht, wahllos Systeme anzugreifen oder auszuspähen. Angreifende klären heutzutage zuerst den potentiellen Wert, bevor sie handeln und konzentrieren sich auf vielversprechende Ziele wie VPNs und Firewalls, Anmeldedatenspeicher, Authentifizierungssysteme oder Remote-Support-Lösungen am Netzwerkrand. Die könnten sich als Generalschlüssel entpuppen und den Weg ins Netzwerk oder zu Anmeldeinformationen aufsperren.

Immer wieder tauchen Meldungen über kritische und brandgefährliche Schwachstellen auf, die offenbar niemand für Angriffe ausgenutzt hatte. Es klingt unglaublich, aber oft hat sich einfach niemand die Arbeit gemacht, für eine Schwachstelle einen Exploit zu programmieren. Moderne Cyber-Kriminelle folgen immer mehr dem Prinzip des Return on Investment und bedienen sich existierender Proof of Concepts (PoC).

Komplexität ist unerwünscht

So ergeben sich manchmal überraschende Erkenntnisse: Moderne Cyber-Kriminelle meiden wohldokumentierte Schwachstellen. Umfangreiche Untersuchungen und Analysen zu einer bestimmten Sicherheitslücke sind eher ein Indikator für unerwünschte Komplexität und Aufwand, den man möglichst gering halten möchte. RaaS-Hacker:innen fahnden nach verfügbaren Tools oder kaufen für ein bestimmtes Objekt bereits erstellte Exploits. Angreifende wollen sich unbemerkt in den von ihnen kompromittierten Systemen bewegen. Sie suchen sich also Ziele mit wenigen Abwehrmechanismen aus, wo Malware und Pivoting-Tools funktionieren, etwa Desktop-Telefone und VPN-Apps sowie andere ungeschützte Hardware. Viele Anwendungen dort sind mit oder für Linux erstellt, besitzen einen vollständigen Nutzungsbereich und verfügen über vertrauenswürdige, vorinstallierte Tools. Das verspricht, sie nach einem Exploit weiterhin nutzen zu können und macht sie umso attraktiver für Cyber-Kriminelle.

Überraschende Kosten-Nutzen-Rechnung

Ist das Ziel erst einmal anvisiert, gilt es für Angreifende Zeit, Kosten und Wiederverwendbarkeit einzuschätzen. Schwachstellenforschung (Vulnerabilty Research) geht hierbei auch über das bloße Aufdecken ungepatchter Geräte hinaus. Cyber-Kriminelle müssen beurteilen, ob die Kosten für die Recherche und Entwicklung der daraus resultierenden Tools im Verhältnis zum Gewinn nach einer Attacke stehen. Gut dokumentierte Software oder Open-Source-Tools, die leicht zu beschaffen und zu testen sind, bedeuten ein vergleichsweise leichtes Ziel.

Ebenfalls überraschend: Insgesamt spielt laut Wolpoff der Schweregrad einer Sicherheitslücke für Cyber-Kriminelle nicht die zentrale Rolle. Einen Angriff zu planen ist weit komplexer und erfordert wirtschaftliches Denken. Die Erkenntnis, dass auch die Gegenseite Kompromisse eingehen muss, hilft der Verteidigung von Cloud-Umgebungen, diese sinnvoll abzusichern. Alles, überall und jederzeit vor allen Angreifenden zu schützen ist illusorisch. Mehr wie sie zu denken, erleichtert aber die Priorisierung.

Im dritten Teil dieser Artikelserie dreht sich alles um die Frage, ob das Ransomware-as-a-Service-Modell auch ohne Bitcoin und Darknet möglich wäre und ob die beiden Technologien eigentlich in dem Kontext halten, was die Angreifenden versprechen.