Microsoft Office has released patches for the Follina vulnerability CVE-2022-30190 (Follina) with the June 14, 2022 Windows Security Update. Appropriate vulnerability tests have been implemented in the Greenbone Enterprise Feed and the Greenbone Community Feed, allowing you to test your network for the vulnerability and take protective measures using the patches. Read more information about the latest Follina update here.

The vendor refers to the following security updates to close the vulnerability:

  • KB5014678: Windows Server 2022
  • KB5014697: Windows 11
  • KB5014699: Windows 10 Version 20H2 – 21H2, Windows Server 20H2
  • KB5014692: Windows 10 Version 1809 (IoT), Windows Server 2019
  • KB5014702: Windows 10 1607 (LTSC), Windows Server 2016
  • KB5014710: Windows 10 1507 (RTM, LTSC)
  • KB5014738: Monthly Rollup Windows Server 2012 R2, Windows RT 8.1, Windows 8.1
  • KB5014746: Security only Windows Server 2012 R2, Windows RT 8.1, Windows 8.1
  • KB5014747: Monthly Rollup Windows Server 2012
  • KB5014741: Security only Windows Server 2012
  • KB5014748: Monthly Rollup Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows 7 SP1
  • KB5014742: Security only Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows 7 SP1

This means that security updates are available for all versions of Windows Server and Client that are still in support. The vulnerability is rated as “important”, which means that users should install the updates promptly to close the gap.
Microsoft said, “The update for this vulnerability is included in the June 2022 Windows Cumulative Updates, and Microsoft strongly recommends that all customers install the updates to fully protect themselves from the vulnerability. Customers whose systems are configured to receive automatic updates do not need to perform any further actions.”

Follina Update

Installing the June 14 patches is all the more important because attackers and security professionals have already found several ways to exploit the vulnerability, but Microsoft has so far only offered workarounds (see also our blog article).
Greenbone has integrated corresponding vulnerability tests into the Greenbone Community Feed and the Greenbone Enterprise Feed and thus offers the possibility to test the network for this vulnerability and to take protective measures if necessary or to use the new Microsoft patches.

Microsoft Office hat mit dem Windows-Sicherheitsupdate vom 14. Juni 2022 Patches für die Follina-Sicherheitslücke CVE-2022-30190 (Follina)  veröffentlicht. In den Greenbone Enterprise Feed und den Greenbone Community Feed wurden entsprechende Schwachstellentests implementiert, mit denen Sie ihr Netzwerk auf die Schwachstelle testen und Schutzmaßnahmen mithilfe der Patches ergreifen können. Lesen Sie hier weitere Informationen über das aktuelle Follina-Update.

  • KB5014678: Windows Server 2022
  • KB5014697: Windows 11
  • KB5014699: Windows 10 Version 20H2 – 21H2, Windows Server 20H2
  • KB5014692: Windows 10 Version 1809 (IoT), Windows Server 2019
  • KB5014702: Windows 10 1607 (LTSC), Windows Server 2016
  • KB5014710: Windows 10 1507 (RTM, LTSC)
  • KB5014738: Monthly Rollup Windows Server 2012 R2, Windows RT 8.1, Windows 8.1
  • KB5014746: Security only Windows Server 2012 R2, Windows RT 8.1, Windows 8.1
  • KB5014747: Monthly Rollup Windows Server 2012
  • KB5014741: Security only Windows Server 2012
  • KB5014748: Monthly Rollup Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows 7 SP1
  • KB5014742: Security only Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows 7 SP1

Das bedeutet, dass Sicherheitsupdates für alle Versionen von Windows Server und Client verfügbar sind, die noch unterstützt werden. Die Sicherheitslücke wird als „wichtig“ eingestuft, was bedeutet, dass Nutzende die Updates umgehend installieren sollten, um die Lücke zu schließen.
Microsoft: „Das Update für diese Sicherheitslücke ist in den Windows-Updates vom Juni 2022 enthalten. Microsoft empfiehlt allen Kunden dringend, die Updates zu installieren, um sich vollständig vor der Sicherheitslücke zu schützen. Kunden, deren Systeme so konfiguriert sind, dass sie automatische Updates erhalten, müssen keine weiteren Maßnahmen ergreifen.“

Follina Update

Die Installation der Patches vom 14. Juni ist umso wichtiger, da Angreifende und Sicherheitsfachleute bereits mehrere Möglichkeiten gefunden haben, die Schwachstelle auszunutzen, Microsoft aber bisher nur Workarounds anbietet (siehe auch unseren Blogeintrag).
Greenbone hat entsprechende Schwachstellenstests in den Greenbone Community Feed und den Greenbone Enterprise Feed integriert und bietet somit die Möglichkeit, das Netzwerk auf diese Schwachstelle zu testen und gegebenenfalls Schutzmaßnahmen zu ergreifen bzw. die neuen Microsoft Patches zu nutzen.