Both the cryptocurrency Bitcoin and the darknet have a dubious reputation. The media like to portray both as opaque, criminal parallel worlds. For Ransomware as a Service, Bitcoin and the darknet are welcome tools. Organized crime has been using them for a long time to disguise its business, even if it by no means makes the criminals anonymous and safe from prosecution.

Ransomware became the world’s biggest threat to IT systems in 2021. If you want to successfully protect yourself against it, you also need to understand how the parties involved proceed. Part one of this series of articles focused on the business model of Ransomware as a Service. Part two showed why this “professionalization” also leads to a changed mindset among attackers. Part three now explains why the IT tools that organized crime uses to order and transfer money are far from secure.

Ransomware as a Service: abstract image of Bitcoin logo

Anonymous and Secure?

Bitcoin as a means of payment and the darknet are proving to be practical, helpful and attractive for attackers. Under the cloak of supposed anonymity, they think they are protected from prosecution and shielded from consequences. But this is a common misconception: neither Bitcoin nor the darknet are anonymous in practice.

While cryptocurrency was never designed for anonymity, but explicitly for traceability of transactions even without a reliable central authority, the darknet turns out to be not even remotely as anonymous as its creators would have liked. This is also shown by reports such as the recent ones about KAX17’s “de-anonymization attacks” on the Tor network. Nearly always, classic investigative methods are enough for law enforcement to track down even ransomware actors like the REvil group. This group had collected half a million euros in ransoms in more than 5,000 infections, according to Heise [German only].

Never a Good Idea: Cooperating With Criminals

No matter whether online or offline, anyone who gets involved with blackmailers is abandoned. As in real life, good advice is never to pay a ransom. Regardless of how professional the hotline on the other end seems, trust is not appropriate. The operators of REvils Ransomware as a Service, for example, even stole the extorted ransoms from their clients via a backdoor in the malware.

It all started out so friendly and idealistic. Roger Dingledine and Nick Mathewson laid the foundations for the Tor network in the early 2000s. Based on the idea of onion rings, numerous cryptographically secured layers on top of each other were supposed to ensure reliable anonymity on the web – in their opinion, a fundamental right, analogous to the privacy definition of Eric Hughes “Cypherpunk’s Manifesto”. Then in 2009, Bitcoin saw the light of day, first described by the almost mystical figure of Satoshi Nakamoto.

Darknet and Bitcoin Are Not “Criminal”

Neither the darknet nor Bitcoin were designed to conceal or enable dark schemes. The goal was to create free, independent, supposedly uncontrollable and largely secure structures for information exchange and payment. Like a knife, however, the services can be instrumentalized for both good and evil – and, of course, organized crime knows how to use this to its advantage. The focus is not always on leaving no traces. Most often, the focus is on the simplicity and availability of the means. Bitcoin and the darknet are simply the tools of choice because they are there.

But as in the real world, the easiest way to catch the extortionists is during the money transfer: a blockchain like Bitcoin documents all transactions ever made, including the wallet information (i.e., the Bitcoin owner), and makes it available for viewing at any time. The same applies to the darknet: even if anonymity is technically possible, people regularly fail to meet the simplest requirements. GPS meta-data can be found in photos or UPS codes in the illegal store. The legendary drug store Silkroad was busted because employees made mistakes and confessed.

Digitized, Organized Crime

The darknet and cryptocurrencies are helpful tools for organized crime and thus fire accelerators for the rapidly growing number of serious ransomware attacks. But they are by no means essential, nor are they to blame. Such cyber crime is just the modern IT variant of what we can also experience on the streets of any major city. Ransomware is, so to speak, the modern protection racket, Bitcoin is the garbage can for the handover, and the darknet is the dark bar where deals are made.

The perfidy is not in the tools, but in the methods and the long experience in the “business”. Trend Micro, for example, describes the “double extortion ransomware” approach. Here, attackers first make an image of the data and threaten to publish it if payment is not made (i.e., if it is not decrypted). Organized crime has been in the extortion business not just since Bitcoin or the darknet came into existence. Even though the two technologies now enable cyber criminals to extort large sums of money undetected at first, conventional methods are almost always sufficient for detection. The most important prerequisite here is that enough law enforcement personnel are available, not primarily their technical equipment.

Take Precautions

But at this point, in the company, the horse has already bolted. If you are faced with encrypted data and a ransom demand, the darknet, Bitcoin and the detection rate are probably of secondary importance. Much more important is the question of how to get out of the unfortunate situation. And you can only do that if you were prepared. This includes backups, restore tests and the immediate disconnection of all affected machines (network split) – in other words, proactive risk management, disaster recovery tests and constant maintenance of your own systems. Another important component is multi-factor authentication, which prevents attackers from shimmying from one system to the next using acquired passwords alone.

The most important thing, however, is to avoid critical situations in the first place and to identify vulnerabilities in your own systems and close them quickly. Modern vulnerability management like Greenbone’s does just that: it gives you the ability to close gaps in your systems, making the corporate network unattractive, costly, and thus a deterrent to professional cyber criminals, not just from the Ransomware-as-a-Service world.

Greenbone’s products monitor the corporate network or external IT resources for potential vulnerabilities by continuously and fully automatically examining it and, as Greenbone Enterprise Appliances or the Greenbone Cloud Service (software as a service hosted in German data centers), guarantee security by always up-to-date scans and tests.

How this works is described by Elmar Geese, CIO/CMO at Greenbone, also here in the blog with a post around the Log4j vulnerability. In addition, Geese explains how quickly and securely the administration and management are also informed of the latest vulnerabilities and how exactly the scan for vulnerabilities such as Log4Shell is carried out.

Ein zweifelhafter Ruf haftet sowohl der Kryptowährung Bitcoin wie auch dem Darknet an. Medien schildern beide gerne als undurchsichtige, kriminelle Parallelwelten. Für Ransomware as a Service sind Bitcoin und Darknet willkommene Werkzeuge. Das organisierte Verbrechen hat sie sich längst zu Nutze gemacht, um seine Geschäfte zu verschleiern, auch wenn die Kriminellen damit keineswegs anonym und sicher vor Strafverfolgung sind.

Ransomware wurde 2021 zur weltweit größten Bedrohung von IT-Systemen. Wer sich erfolgreich davor schützen will, muss auch verstehen, wie die Beteiligten vorgehen. Im ersten Teil dieser Artikelserie ging es um das Geschäftsmodell von Ransomware as a Service. Teil zwei zeigte, warum diese „Professionalisierung“ auch zu einem veränderten Mindset bei den Angreifenden führt. Der dritte Teil erklärt nun, warum die IT-Werkzeuge, die die organisierte Kriminalität zur Bestellung und zur Geldübergabe nutzt, keineswegs sicher sind.

Ransomware as a Service: abstraktes Bild des Bitcoin-Logos

Anonym und sicher?

Bitcoin als Zahlungsmittel und das Darknet erweisen sich als praktisch, hilfreich und attraktiv für Angreifende. Unter dem Deckmantel der vermeintlichen Anonymität wähnen sie sich geschützt vor Strafverfolgung und abgeschirmt von Konsequenzen. Doch das ist ein verbreitetes Missverständnis: Weder Bitcoin noch Darknet sind in der Praxis anonym.

Während die Kryptowährung nie auf Anonymität ausgelegt war, sondern explizit auf Nachvollziehbarkeit von Transaktionen auch ohne zuverlässige zentrale Autorität, erweist sich das Darknet als nicht mal ansatzweise so anonym wie seine Macher es sich gewünscht hätten. Das zeigen auch Berichte wie die jüngsten über die „Deanonymisierungsangriffe“ von KAX17 auf das Tor-Netzwerk. Fast immer reicht der Strafverfolgung klassische Ermittlungsmethoden, um auch Ransomware-Agierende wie die REvil-Gruppe ausfindig zu machen. Die hatte laut Heise in mehr als 5.000 Infektionen eine halbe Million Euro an Lösegeldern eingetrieben.

Nie eine gute Idee: mit Kriminellen kooperieren

Egal, ob online oder offline, wer sich mit Erpressenden einlässt, ist verlassen. Als guter Rat gilt wie im richtigen Leben: niemals Lösegeld bezahlen. Ganz egal wie professionell die Hotline am anderen Ende auch scheint, Vertrauen ist nicht angebracht. Die Betreibenden von REvils Ransomware as a Service beispielsweise stahlen ihren Auftraggebenden sogar die erpressten Lösegelder über eine Backdoor in der Malware.

Dabei hatte alles so freundlich und idealistisch angefangen. Roger Dingledine und Nick Mathewson legten die Grundsteine für das Tor-Netzwerk Anfang der 2000er Jahre. Basierend auf der Idee der Zwiebelringe sollten zahlreiche kryptographisch gesicherte Schichten übereinander für zuverlässige Anonymität im Web sorgen – ihrer Meinung nach ein Grundrecht, analog zur Privacy-Definition von Eric Hughes „Cypherpunk’s Manifesto“. 2009 erblickte dann Bitcoin das Licht der Welt, erstmals beschrieben durch die fast schon mystische Figur des Satoshi Nakamoto.

Darknet und Bitcoin sind nicht „kriminell“

Weder Darknet noch Bitcoin wurden entworfen, um dunkle Machenschaften zu verschleiern oder zu ermöglichen. Ziel war das Schaffen freier, unabhängiger, vermeintlich unkontrollierbarer und weitgehend sicherer Strukturen für Informationsaustausch und Bezahlung. Wie ein Messer lassen sich die Dienste jedoch sowohl für Gutes als auch für Böses instrumentalisieren – und natürlich weiß die organisierte Kriminalität das für sich zu nutzen. Nicht immer liegt dabei der Schwerpunkt darauf, keine Spuren zu hinterlassen. Meist steht die Einfachheit und Verfügbarkeit der Mittel im Vordergrund. Bitcoin und das Darknet sind schlicht die Tools der Wahl, weil sie da sind.

Aber wie in der realen Welt schnappt man die Erpressenden am einfachsten bei der Geldübergabe: Eine Blockchain wie Bitcoin dokumentiert alle jemals getätigten Transaktionen inklusive der Wallet-Informationen (also den Bitcoin-Besitzenden) und macht sie jederzeit einsehbar. Gleiches gilt für das Darknet: Selbst, wenn technisch Anonymität möglich ist, scheitern Menschen regelmäßig an den einfachsten Anforderungen. Da finden sich dann GPS-Meta-Daten in Fotos oder UPS-Codes im illegalen Shop. Der legendäre Drogenshop Silkroad flog auf, weil Mitarbeitende Fehler machten und geständig waren.

Digitalisierte, organisierte Kriminalität

Das Darknet und die Kryptowährungen sind hilfreiche Werkzeuge für die organisierte Kriminalität und damit Brandbeschleuniger für die schnell wachsende Anzahl an gravierenden Ransomware-Attacken. Aber sie sind keineswegs essenziell, noch trifft sie eine Schuld. Derartige Cyber-Kriminalität ist nur die moderne IT-Variante dessen, was wir auch auf den Straßen beliebiger Großstädte erleben können. Ransomware ist sozusagen die moderne Schutzgelderpressung, Bitcoin der Abfalleimer für die Übergabe, das Darknet die dunkle Kneipe, in der Deals vereinbart werden.

Das Perfide steckt nicht in den Werkzeugen, sondern in den Methoden und der langen Erfahrung im „Business“. Trend Micro beschreibt beispielsweise den Ansatz der „Double Extortion Ransomware“. Dabei machen sich Angreifende erst ein Bild über die Daten und drohen, diese bei Nicht-Bezahlen (also bei Nicht-Entschlüsselung) zu veröffentlichen. Organisierte Kriminalität betreibt das Geschäft mit der Erpressung nicht erst seit es Bitcoin oder das Darknet gibt. Auch wenn die beiden Technologien es Cyber-Kriminellen heute ermöglichen, zunächst unerkannt große Geldsummen zu erpressen, reichen herkömmliche Methoden fast immer zur Aufklärung. Wichtigste Voraussetzung dabei ist, dass genug Personal für die Strafverfolgung zur Verfügung steht, nicht in erster Linie dessen technische Ausstattung.

Vorsorge treffen

Doch zu diesem Zeitpunkt ist das Kind im Unternehmen bereits in den Brunnen gefallen. Wer vor seinen verschlüsselten Daten steht und sich einer Lösegeldforderung gegenübersieht, dem sind das Darknet, Bitcoin und die Aufklärungsquote vermutlich erst mal zweitrangig. Viel wichtiger ist die Frage, wie man aus der misslichen Lage wieder herauskommt. Und das gelingt nur, wenn man vorbereitet war. Dazu gehören Backups, Restore-Tests und das sofortige Abtrennen aller betroffenen Maschinen (Network Split) – also proaktives Risikomanagement, Desaster Recovery Tests und stetige Pflege der eigenen Systeme. Ein weiterer wichtiger Baustein ist die Multi-Faktor-Authentifizierung, die verhindert, dass sich Angreifende allein durch erworbene Passwörter von einem System zum nächsten hangeln.

Am wichtigsten ist es jedoch, gar nicht erst in kritische Situationen zu gelangen und Schwachstellen in den eigenen Systemen zu erkennen und schnell zu schließen. Modernes Schwachstellenmanagement wie das von Greenbone leistet genau das: Es legt Angreifenden Steine in den Weg und macht das Firmennetzwerk unattraktiv, aufwändig und somit abschreckend für die professionellen Cyber-Kriminellen, nicht nur aus der Ransomware-as-a-Service-Welt.

Die Produkte von Greenbone überwachen das Unternehmensnetzwerk oder externe IT-Ressourcen auf potenzielle Schwachstellen, indem sie es fortlaufend und vollautomatisch untersuchen und garantieren als Greenbone Enterprise Appliances oder dem Greenbone Cloud Service (in deutschen Rechenzentren gehostete Software as a Service) Sicherheit durch stets aktuelle Scans und Tests.

Wie das funktioniert, beschreibt Elmar Geese, CIO/CMO bei Greenbone, ebenfalls hier im Blog anhand eines Posts rund um die log4j-Schwachstelle. Außerdem erklärt Geese, wie schnell und sicher die Administration und das Management auch bei den neuesten Schwachstellen informiert wird und wie genau der Scan nach Schwachstellen wie Log4Shell abläuft.